Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old.  All schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including childminders, preschools, nurseries and school reception classes.

Seven areas of learning shape the curriculum, these are separated into 3 Prime and 4 Specific Areas of Learning.

The Prime Areas of Learning are deemed to be ‘time specific’ and are the foundation stone upon which future learning is securely built – they are pivotal in a child’s development.

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific Areas of Learning include:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding the World.  Changes were made to the ‘Development Matters’ statements within the age bands and the Early Learning Goals – significant changes were made regarding the end of year expectations, particularly within Literacy and Mathematics.


We carry out ongoing formative assessments when interacting with your child.  We use this information to plan their learning so that we are in the best place to support them in achieving a Good Level of Development.  We are extremely fortunate at Clearwell because being a small school means that we can tailor learning to individual needs. We use Tapestry to keep a record of learning and playing and we encourage parents to add photographs and comments to your child’s learning journey.

Summative assessments are made throughout your child’s pre-school and Reception year at termly intervals to further capture their strengths and areas to develop in subsequent provision and practice.  We use the information on Tapestry and other observations to inform this assessment.

Assessments are based on observation . Please click here for more information.

We have fabulous Continuous Provision at Clearwell which makes our learning environment an excellent place for all children to develop in so many different ways.  The planning for this provision can be found below.  The actual theme for different areas will change dependent on so many different things.